September/October 2007 issue

Honoring Our Circuit Judges

Judge Lay Memorial

On September 26, 2007, the Court of Appeals held a special memorial session for the late Judge Donald P. Lay in the en banc courtroom on the 28th floor of the Eagleton Courthouse in St. Louis. Judges from around the circuit, former law clerks, and court staff gathered to honor Judge Lay, who left behind a legacy as a judge for the people in his administration of the Eighth Circuit during his 12 years as chief judge, the longest tenure in the history of the circuit, and in his opinions upholding civil rights for all. Speakers included William H. Webster, former judge of the Eighth Circuit and director of the FBI and CIA.

An exhibit depicting Judge Lay’s life and career, created by the Library, was erected at his memorial and will be on display in the Omaha Courthouse from October to November and in the Fargo Courthouse from December to January. It later will become part of an exhibit for the opening of the St. Paul Courthouse.

Courthouse Dedications

Two federal courthouses in Arkansas and Minnesota were recently dedicated to honor Eighth Circuit judges. September 28, 2007, marked the dedication of the Richard Sheppard Arnold U.S. Courthouse Annex in Little Rock. The new annex to the courthouse, which was named in Judge Arnold’s honor in 2002, includes a five-story glass and aluminum atrium which blends a contemporary style with neoclassical elements that match the original building. The ceremony included tributes to Richard Sheppard Arnold by his brother, Judge Morris S. Arnold, and former U.S. Senator Dale L. Bumpers.

On October 6, 2007, the federal courthouse in Duluth was formally renamed the Gerald W. Heaney Federal Building & U.S. Courthouse & Customhouse in recognition of his civic contributions and judicial service. In his speech at the ceremony, former vice president Walter Mondale said, “Long after we’re gone, when the next generation walks by [the courthouse], I hope they’ll remember what he has meant to us all.” Judge Heaney was present for the ceremony.