March/April 2010
Judge Riley is New Chief for 8th Circuit

On Wednesday, April 7, 2010, Circuit Judge William Jay Riley was sworn in as the new Chief Judge for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. He succeeds Circuit Judge James B. Loken, who served as Chief Judge for the last seven years.

An investiture ceremony was held in the Roman Hruska U.S. Courthouse at 2:00 p.m. Participants in the ceremony included Clerk of Court for the Eighth Circuit Michael E. Gans, Circuit Judges C. Arlen Beam, Duane Benton, and Bobby E. Shepherd, and U.S. Chief District Judge Joseph F. Bataillon of the District of Nebraska.

Return to Newsletter Articles