March/April 2005 issue

First All-Woman District Court Panel

Back on September 4, 2002, then-Chief Circuit Judge David Hansen appointed Circuit Judge Diana Murphy, Judge Joan Ericksen, and Judge Karen Schreier, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 2284(b)(1), to hear the Voting Rights Acts case of Quick Bear Quiver v. Hazeltin, Civ. 02-5069.

The judges were chosen by random drawing from all of the active district and circuit judges within the 8 Circuit. It is probable that this is the first th three-judge district court panel consisting entirely of women. A hearing was held before the three judges on April 26 in Rapid City, South Dakota.

Court of Appeals Home | Library Home | Newsletter Home