October 2017

New Judge for the Eighth Circuit: Ralph R.

On September 28, 2017, the Senate confirmed Ralph R. Erickson as a circuit judge for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. He fills the vacancy left by Circuit Judge Kermit Bye, who retired in September 2016.
Judge Erickson was born in Thief River Falls, Minnesota in 1959, and grew up in Rugby, North Dakota. He received his bachelor’s degree in 1980 from Jamestown College (North Dakota), where he graduated with honors. He received his law degree from the University of North Dakota School of Law in 1984.
After graduating from law school, he went to work for the firm of Ohnstad Twichell, P.C. in West Fargo, North Dakota, where he practiced until 1991. In 1992 he established his own law practice, Erickson Law Office. His practice focused primarily on personal injury and administrative law. During this time he also served as a part-time prosecutor for the City of West Fargo.
In 1993 he was appointed as a Magistrate Judge for the Cass County Court of North Dakota. In 1994 he was appointed as a County Judge for Traill, Steele, Nelson and Griggs counties. In 1995 he was elected as a District Court Judge for the East Central Judicial District Court of North Dakota.
In 2003 he was appointed as a U.S. District Court Judge for the District of North Dakota, where he served as chief judge from 2009 to 2016. Congratulations, Judge Erickson!