The Historical Society of the United States Courts in the Eighth Circuit

Congratulations to Our Officers!

Eighth Circuit Historical Society

Historical Society Board Chair Richard G. Kopf and President F. Richard Lyford both received awards for their outstanding leadership in developing court history at the Eighth Circuit Judicial Conference held in Omaha in August 2014.

Judge Richard G. Kopf

Historical Society Board Chair Richard G. Kopf , Senior U.S. District Judge for the District of Nebraska, received an award recognizing his many years of excellent service to the Society during the Board meeting held on August 7, 2014. U.S. Court of Appeals Chief Judge William Jay Riley presented Judge Kopf with a certificate signed by the Society’s officers and an antique railroad lantern.

F. Richard Lyford, President of the Historical Society and the Society’s Southern District of Iowa branch, received the Richard S. Arnold Award for Distinguished Service and Lifetime Achievement during a Judicial Conference luncheon on the same day. The Eighth Circuit Bar Association recognized ten outstanding attorneys, one from each judicial district within the Eighth Circuit, in its second bi-annual presentation of these awards. Lyford was recognized for his outstanding work in developing the legal history of Iowa, most notably his oral history projects for both the Southern District of Iowa and the Iowa Supreme Court.

Home | Officers | Board of Directors | Branches | Incorporation/Bylaws
Annual Reports | Minutes | Newsletters | Surveys
Featured Judges and Historical Topics | 8th Circuit Courthouses Poster
Judges' Papers | Oral History | Court Education and Outreach | History Workshop 2016
Recent Historical Publications | Eighth Circuit Reading Lists | History of the Federal Judiciary

©2001 by the Historical Society of the U.S. Courts in the Eighth Circuit