Eighth Circuit Historical Society
The Historical Society of the
United States Courts in the Eighth Circuit

Home | Officers | Board of Directors | Branches | Incorporation/Bylaws
Annual Reports | Minutes | Newsletters | Surveys | 8th Circuit Courthouses Poster
History of the Federal Judiciary | Judges' Papers

Election of Officers for 2014-2016

The Historical Society of the United States Courts in the Eighth Circuit is accepting nominations for the offices of President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer, each of which serves a two year term.

The election of officers will be held at the Historical Society's Board of Directors meeting on Thursday, August 7, from 7:00 - 8:00 a.m., at the 2014 Eighth Circuit Judicial Conference at the Hilton Omaha. Information about the conference is available on the
Eighth Circuit Judicial Conference web site.

Nominations may be made to
Ann Fessenden, Secretary, before the Board meeting or from the floor at the meeting.

Please note: Federal judges cannot serve as officers (except for the position of Board Chair, which is appointed by the President, rather than elected.) Federal employees cannot serve as Treasurer.

Judge Morris Anorld and Jenniffer HoranCelebrating 50 Years of the Right to Counsel:

Gideon v. Wainwright
and the Criminal Justice Act of 1964


Produced by the U.S. Courts Library Eighth Circuit and recorded by the Eastern District of Arkansas

In commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the Criminal Justice Act of 1964, retired U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Morris Sheppard Arnold and Eastern District of Arkansas Federal Public Defender Jenniffer Horan sat down together to discuss the landmark case and Act that secured the right to appointed counsel.

Click the "Play" button to start the video.


History of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit | Judge Morris S. Arnold | Judge Richard S. Arnold | Judge Myron H. Bright | Judge Gerald W. Heaney | Judge Theodore McMillian
Judge Donald R. Ross

Judge Rensselaer Russell Nelson (Minnesota) | Judge Charles A. Shaw (Missouri Eastern)
Judge Warren K. Urbom (Nebraska) | Judge Ross A. Walters (Iowa Southern)

Chief Standing Bear | Celebrating 50 of the Right to Counsel: Gideon v. Wainright and the Criminal Justice Act of 1964 (Judge Morris Arnold and Jenniffer Horan)

The Historical Society's mission is to preserve and celebrate the rich history of the federal courts of the seven states that make up the Eighth Circuit. Toward this end, the Historical Society has organized separate branches for each of the United States district courts located in Arkansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota, as well as a branch for the circuit court of appeals that encompasses all of these states.

The Historical Society of the United States Courts in the Eighth Circuit is a not-for-profit corporation organized and operating under the laws of the State of Missouri. It is governed by a board of directors made up of representatives of each of the branches. The Historical Society and its branches are tax exempt organizations pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, and contributions to the Historical Society are tax deductible. The Historical Society is not a part of, nor is it controlled by, any of the courts, judges or employees of the courts.

The Historical Society welcomes inquiry and participation by all interested persons. For information regarding membership, please contact Ann Fessenden, 111 S. 10th Street, Room 22.300, St. Louis, MO 63102, or the branch for your court.

Many of the files on this site are in PDF format and require Adobe Acrobat for access.

Updated July 16, 2014
Contact webmaster

©2001 by the Historical Society of the U.S. Courts in the Eighth Circuit